Skip to content

A Soolip Wedding @ Vibiana, Downtown Los Angeles

March 12, 2010

A Soolip Wedding

Photography by: Docuvitae and Tara Sieling

For me and my team, inspiration started months ago when Wanda Wen invited us to be a partner, and event floral designer, for this years A Soolip Wedding…..The whole process was such a joy and this verdant  succulent wall was one of my most cherished projects, ever!  From the conception of an idea, to the joy of dirt and succulents with myself and some of my most favorite creative people!

Wanda Wen, founder and producer of A Soolip Wedding is so talented, but who knew she could play the strings? The musicians from  String Theory Productions illuminated the room with sound.  It was one of the most remarkable features at this years event. I’ve never heard or seen anything like it!  The strings reached from one end of the cathedral all the way across to the other side up atop the balcony, Adding the beautiful sound of art.

Another highlight of the event was the bridal gown fashion runway show featuring Monique Lhuillier

The pictures below are  from a really fun collaboration I had with Russell Fowler, along with  Kirstie Kelly Couture and Cathryn Vanbreen of The Studio Agency. We put a modern twist to the vintage flapper girl look. Our models waltzed around the Vibiana holding a custom designed palm husk filled with succulents.  They offered brides to be Russell’s dvd’s chalked full of some of his favorite weddings and my postcards which included photos of my designs.  It was great to get to collaborate with such a fine visual artist like Russ.

We also designed a bold succulent headpiece to accent these amazingly sweet dresses by Kirstie Kelly Couture. A big thank you to the wonderful Erin Dallesandro, fashion Director of Kirstie Kelly Couture, for graciously providing our flapper models with these dresses.  They are perfect bridesmaids dresses for any fashion savvy bride.

Russell Fowler has been A Soolip Wedding event cinematographer for the last 4 years. This year he styled his assistant cinematographers with vintage super 8mm film cameras and fedora hats for a mod squad look. They really looked like they were having a lot of fun shooting this event.

On a mission for milk glass and found my new favorite vase.  Love the modern vintage feel of this black vase I found at an antique shop in san clemente.  Beautiful linens, from La Tavola, add such a funky flair to the soft white flowers and  milk glass…..

Above:  Designer and  Downtown Flowers Manager, Malorie Clampitt.  Such a talented girl….

Below: my flower girls Casey and Parker, as well as Amy from Vanilla Bake Shop.  Amy is a long time Soolip Wedding partner who I have had the joy of working with before.

Wanda Wen with her co-producers ErikaAhlin and  Brook Barnes of PRA Destination Management.  They really did  an outstanding  job.  I really loved working with these women!

For the entrance registration area, La Tavola provided the perfect linens to match our pallette.  We used Lotus pods, soft yellow roses and parrott tulips with peeks of black calla lilies. We also used lots of birch and succulents to create a woodlands feel for our guests as they entered the event.

I designed and fabricated this birch bark chuppah/alter that I will be renting for many upcoming weddings.  I love the way the bark looks antiquey and organic at the same time.  The bits of green lichen on the white and grey are so faint and beautiful.

From beginning to end it was such a wonderful time.  I cant wait until the next A Soolip Wedding!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 6:49 pm

    Amazing! The living wall is to die for! I’m also in love with your headpieces :)))))
    I bet your yard is heaven….

  2. March 13, 2010 9:39 pm

    Krista,

    It was pure joy to work with you this year. You are a talent.

    Warmly,

    Wanda

  3. March 14, 2010 8:08 am

    Krista Jon,

    I can’t thank you enough for collaborating with me for my favorite event ever. Your vision and artistic inspiration and talent blow me away. It is an honor to work with you. I wish you much added success!

    Cheers,
    Russell

Leave a Reply

